Plastic Beach the new album from Gorillaz

Oh look – Gorillaz are back, with the first few tracks from the act “leaking” online and animated popstar Murdoc “hijacking” Yahoo! LAUNCHcast to talk about it all (hear it here).

OK – it’s all about digital marketing, but we’re still kind of interested in the antics from the conceptiliseneers who make up these musical (chart-topping) mavericks.

Plastic Beach the new album from Gorillaz, will be released by Parlophone on 8 March, 2010. It’s led by new single Stylo (featuring Mos Def and Bobby Womack, video link above – embedding disabled on account of some sheer lunacy at the label) which will be available for download from January 26th.

The song leaked online which was confirmed by Murdoc Niccals who shouted out this news in a recent Twitter post: “A leak! A leak! Plastic Beach has sprung a leak! One of those Russian pirates has put a bullet hole in my island! My single’s leaked! STYLO!”

Five years since Demon Days, the band have “taken up residence, recording on a secret floating island deep in the South Pacific, a Plastic Beach HQ, made up of the detritus, debris and washed up remnants of humanity. This Plastic Beach is the furthest point from any landmass on Earth; the most deserted spot on the planet.”

The world’s biggest animated band, Gorillaz formed in 1998, and have since sold 12 million copies over two albums Gorillaz (2000) and Demon Days (2005). They have hit number 1 in more than a dozen countries and picked up awards including Grammys, Novellos, VMAs and EMAs.

Plastic Beach is produced by Gorillaz.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

1. Orchestral Intro (featuring Sinfonia ViVA)

2. Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach (feat. Snoop Dogg and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)

3. White Flag (feat. Kano, Bashy and The National Orchestra For Arabic Music)

4. Rhinestone Eyes

5. Stylo (feat. Bobby Womack and Mos Def)

6. Superfast Jellyfish (feat. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)

7. Empire Ants (feat. Little Dragon)

8. Glitter Freeze (feat. Mark E Smith)

9. Some Kind Of Nature  (feat. Lou Reed)

10. On Melancholy Hill

11. Broken

12. Sweepstakes (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)

13. Plastic Beach (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)

14. To Binge (feat. Little Dragon)

15. Cloud Of Unknowing (feat. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)

16. Pirate Jet

2 thoughts on “Plastic Beach the new album from Gorillaz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.